SHASA is an incorporated community organisation since February 2015. SHASA has a new 2020/21 Executive with 6 members as approved at our most recent AGM. 

President – Kathryn Maxwell
Kathryn has been a member of SHASA since September 2016 and President for the last 3 years.  Kathryn is passionate about achieving a resilient Eurobodalla where we generate more of our electricity and food and keep the money local.  Kathryn has extensive project management experience from her work for the Australia and New Zealand Governments in the area of community development and sustainability.  A career highlight was her role of Sustainability Manager at the Department of Conservation in New Zealand which included installing the largest off grid solar system and ensuring dozens of conservation islands had solar and energy efficiency upgrades. Kathryn enjoys mountain biking and bushwalking around the region.
Vice President – Steve Colman
Steve is a founding member of SHASA. 
After a long career consulting to organisations on leadership and performance he brings a deep commitment to improving environmental and social awareness.  Having been a regular visitor to the region since the early 1960’s he is now helping SHASA develop a long term strategic plan and vision for the region that helps craft an inspiring and achievable future.  In his spare time Steve, who is based at Tuross Head, can often be found exploring  by sea kayak, mountain bike or on foot the region’s many wild and wonderful places. 
Lee’s photo arriving soon!Treasurer – Lee Gleeson
Lee’s story arriving soon!

Secretary – Suzanne Shorrock
Suzanne started her working life as an English/French teacher, but after her children started school, she retrained in Horticulture at the School of Horticulture, Canberra Institute of Technology, a move driven by her keen interest in gardening and the environment. Suzanne worked in garden maintenance, was a support teacher at the School of Horticulture, and finally owned and managed a retail nursery and florist shop in Canberra. Soon after her arrival in Moruya five years ago, Suzanne heard about and became a member of SHASA. Suzanne is also a member of her local Rural Fire Service Brigade.

Committee Member – Tony Lowe
Tony has had a love for steam power since growing up near a railway line in the age of steam powered locomotives. He started working life in steam power stations long before they became known as “coal fired”! and went on dealing with that industry and the mining industry specialising in mechanical power transmission. Coal had been a big part of Tony’s career but he realised many years ago that because technologies are now evolving, this has enabled us to leave coal behind. Tony installed his own ground mounted PV Solar system 10 yrs ago and is now very happy to be developing and promoting renewable power solutions in our community.

Committee Member – Rob Shorrock
Rob moved to Moruya in 2015 after retiring from a career in civil engineering building roads, bridges commercial buildings and a 2 year stint on a development aid project building village water supplies in southern Mindanao, Philippines. Rob was familiar with the South Coast from his high school days in Bega and was drawn back to its spectacular coastal , forest and rural environment and its diverse and welcoming communities. He has a wide variety of interests ranging from beekeeping to sailing and enjoys working in the community to encourage the preservation of the natural environment and transitioning to a resilient, sustainable more socially equitable future.
Pete’s photo arriving soon!
Committee Member – Pete Phillips
Pete’s story arriving soon!

SHASA Members Meetings

At the October 2020 SHASA Meeting, it was agreed that SHASA monthly meetings will continue via Zoom.  They are held on the 2nd Tuesday of the month from 10.30am – 12.30pm.  Send an email to Steve Colman if you would like to attend these meetings

SHASA Working Groups
At the October 2020 SHASA Meeting, SHASA endorsed the setting up 3 groups to progress key pieces of work and are seeking volunteers to join these groups.  These groups will meet in person (COVID-19 restrictions permitting)

1. Community Energy – held 1st Sunday of every month – contact Tony Lowe on 0413 335 544

2. Electric Transport – held 4th Tuesday of every month – contact Kathryn Maxwell on 0467 558 645

3. Repair Cafe – held 4th Friday of every month – contact Deb Stevenson on 0417 835 169

Meetings are inclusive and informal with all ‘comers’ and ideas welcome. Coffee and cake are also important!

Read more on how you could get involved next.

Sign up and join with more than 500 supporters from across the Eurobodalla Shire and beyond to help co-create an inspiring and resilient future for the region.

* indicates required